Home » Welcome


Slate of Candidates Announced for the 10th Bishop of Maine

Nov. 8, 2018

Dear Friends in Christ:

It is with great joy and gratitude that the Standing Committee of the Diocese of Maine announces a preliminary slate of candidates who will stand for election as 10th Bishop of Maine at a special convention on February 9, 2019.

The candidates are:

The Rev. Kenneth H. Brannon, Rector of St. Thomas Episcopal Church in Sun Valley, Idaho

The Rev. Thomas James Brown, Rector of The Parish of the Epiphany in Winchester, Massachusetts

The Rev. Canon Anne Mallonee, Executive Vice President and Chief Ecclesiastical Officer of The Church Pension Group, New York, New York

The Rev. Rachel Taber-Hamilton, Rector at Trinity Episcopal Church, in Everett, Washington

The Rev. Canon Janet C. Waggoner, Canon to the Ordinary, Transition Ministry Officer and Administrative Officer for the Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth, Texas.

The Discernment Committee presented these candidates to the Standing Committee on November 7. After much thoughtful and prayerful discussion about the candidates and the process by which they were selected, the Standing Committee voted unanimously to approve this provisional slate.

Here you will find introductions in the form of brief biographies and videos. Answers to interview questions will be posted after Nominations by Petition are closed. Any candidates by petition who are added to form the final slate will be posted here if approved by Standing Committee. We expect to complete the vetting of Nomination by Petition and announce a final slate by early December.

The Standing Committee also announces the opening today of the Nomination by Petition process by which nominees may be added to this slate. Petition nominees will be vetted and interviewed using the same process and questions as the original slate. The deadline for nominations by petition is November 15, 2018.

It has been our greatest intention to surround this journey with prayer and to seek the Holy Spirit’s voice in all our proceedings. The Discernment Committee was very pleased to review 27 applications from across the Episcopal Church. Throughout their process of narrowing that wide field, their constant question was not “whom should we eliminate?” but “whom would we like to get to know better?” Seven semi-finalists met in retreat on October 18-21 with the Discernment Committee, Consultant, Chaplain, Chancellor and a liaison from the Standing Committee.

Members of the Diocese will have the opportunity to meet all the candidates in person at three “Walkabout” sessions to be held in January. There will be opportunity for those who cannot travel to these gatherings to view them via live or recorded video stream.

Provided that the election receives the requisite number of consents from dioceses across the Episcopal Church, the Service of Ordination and Consecration will be held at St. Luke’s Cathedral in Portland on Saturday, June 22, 2019 with the Most Rev. Michael Bruce Curry, Presiding Bishop, presiding.

Please join us in continuing to hold the search process in prayer, especially the Transition Committee and Diocesan Staff as they take on the work of introducing candidates to the Diocese. Pray for these candidates as they continue to discern God’s call to ministry and the guidance of the Holy Spirit. Join us also in prayers of thanksgiving for the diligent work of the Discernment Committee in leading us to this point in our journey together. We are grateful to all those who offered themselves as nominees. While we do not know their individual identities, we do know that each of them provided valued perspectives that enriched the process of the Discernment Committee, and we pray for God’s continued guidance in their lives as well.

God of Grace, we give you thanks for all of the blessings of our common life and ministries as the Episcopal Diocese of Maine, and for our leaders who are guiding us through this season of change. Grant to the Discernment and Transition Committees open hearts, minds, and spirits as they receive the Holy Spirit’s gifts of faith, hope, and love to aid their work. We ask also that you send courage and vision to our next bishop of Maine as she or he discerns your call. In Christ’s name we pray, Amen

In thanksgiving and praise to our Lord Jesus Christ,

The Standing Committee of the Diocese of Maine

The Rev. Maria Hoecker, President
The Rev. Sara Gavit
Ms. Brenda Hamilton
The Rev. Timothy Higgins
Mr. Doug Mayer
Mr. Charlie Priest